broken-unfixableWhat has broken, can be fixed. But if it broke, is there a point/reason to fixing it in the first place?

So, I have been thinking about my life experiences and pondered on this “logic”. If I held onto something- a relationship, job, or physical objects- and I broke it, is it something that I needed in the first place? Or was it something that was a distraction for my life?

Throughout our lifetime, we have been told “what was broken can always be fixed”, yet we haven’t posed the question why. Why try to fix it? Why was it mine in the first place? Why should I take the time to fix it? Why was it worth it? I know, you’re probably thinking “because you can fix it to what you want it to be–customize it”!

So, again I pose this question, why is the inevitable stance that we take when something we like/love breaks is to automatically fix it? Maybe its “divine hope” that we can change what we cannot control, and that gives up some sort of control in our life.

I have had plenty of things in my life that have been broken (relationships probably be the number one), and my thought was to try to “work it out” or to “fix the broken pieces”. But as I’ve matured throughout the years, I’ve gain the defensive mechanism of if its broken, it is unfixable. Why? Because you start to exhaust yourself in believing that the things that happen in life, you must fix it to make things better.

Now, I would like to ask another question- why are we not looking internally instead, rather than trying to fix the external situation? Ah, now we may be getting somewhere. See, we tend to blame things on the external world, rather than looking at ourselves. What we need to realize is this- if something in your life becomes broken, now it is time to look into your own heart and figure out what was broken in the first place. You can fix yourself. You cannot fix the external world.

Since this thought process has become an everyday memorandum for me, I have been a better person for myself, not for the world. I trust myself more; I love myself more; I am comfortable with myself more; I am happier to be me, and not a product of the outside world. So, now that you know my thoughts, how will you look at yourself rather than a broken and unfixable fantasy?